Traditional English Farl Loaf

farl

I am not well known for my succes in the bread world ! Cakes are a doddle, pastry is fiddly but bread is my nemesis … !! So believe me when I say there was no one more surprised than me when I jumped up on a Tuesday afternoon , headed into my kitchen and made a loaf of bread !! Just like that …

I decided on a Farl loaf , which is a quintessentially English loaf of bread traditionally baked on the bottom of the oven ! Mine however was baked on a tray on the bottom shelf of the oven !! Bringing it into the 21st century … and I achieved success ! I was so impressed with the loaf .. even the boys loved it .. and as we all know .. that never happens (or very rarely) !! So why not have a go yourselves ..

500g Strong white bread flour
10g salt
20g yeast (I used the dried yeast )
60g butter , softened
300 ml water

Place everything in a bowl and using your dough hooks mix all the ingredients together for 4 minutes.
Tip the dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead for 5 minutes until the dough is smooth & pliable. Pop the dough back into the bowl and leave to rise for 1 hour . I usually cover the bowl with a tea towel but you really don’t have to !

Now line a baking tray ( I use a silicone mat) . Tip the dough out of the bowl ( it shuld have at least doubled in size) onto a floured surface and shape it into a ball . Flatten the ball into a circle thats about 2″ thick. Place the disc onto the baking tray and leave again to rise for 1 hour.

Preheat the oven to 220 degrees . Cover the top of the dough with flour and then with a sharp knife starting from the middle make vertical slashes down the dough all the way round the loaf ( See pic above ). Bake for 30 minutes then cool on a wire rack !! Then eat it mothered in butter … YUM !

And there you have it … The perfect Farl !! Be proud .. I am !!

farlbutter

Casa Costello
2 thoughts on “Traditional English Farl Loaf

Leave a Reply

