Lemon & Poppyseed Cupcakes

February 24th 2011

Today I awoke with a new perspective … the day was bright , my head was clear (my chest was wheezy & sore … a hangover from the flu of pigs … but we try to ignore the niggles) , the boys were playing together without arguing or fighting .. and life had that little upbeat tune of being quite nice ! This dear friends is a first for a long while … whilst I quite like winter .. its really not very good for my health … So a hint of spring in the beautiful Derbyshire air is an absolute blessing !

I also found that the baking/cooking /making groove that I felt I had lost over the last few weeks .. came back and hit me full on in the face ! I didn’t have much time .. and as the day before payday .. Old Mother Hubbards got nothing on me … so after a quick glance around the fridge and cupboards I found enough ingredients for cupcakes   !Just plain old vanilla …. however .. across by the fridge in amongst sesame seeds and dried cranberries  I espied the poppy seeds I had bought in preparartion for Lorraine Pascale’s Cheesy lollipops the boys have been hankering after making … then in the deepest darkest recesses of the salad crisper I found a lemon ! The most versatile of fruit in all manner of baking and making and cooking and prepping ….. and so dear friends … my Lemon & Poppyseed cupcakes were born …. and very nice they are too

Lemon & Poppyseed Cupcakes (makes 12)

Preheat oven to 180 degrees

175g SR Flour , sifted

175g caster Sugar

175g Butter or margarine , softened (I used Stork)

3/4 tsp baking powder

3 Med Eggs (free range if poss)

Zest of 1 lemon

1 heaped tbsp poppyseeds

Sift the flour and baking powder together into a large bowl . Add the butter , sugar and eggs.

Mix together for approx 2 mins (with mixer .. longer by hand ) until a smooth creamy mixture appears . Try not to over mix !

Add the lemon zest and poopyseeds and mix well with a wooden spoon .

Spoon into the cake cases .

Bake for 20 – 25 mins !

Allow to cool .. and either eat plain or decorate with frosting/buttercream/fondant /glace icing … whatever takes your fancy !!!!

Enjoy xxx

4 thoughts on “Lemon & Poppyseed Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Lemon & Poppyseed Cupcakes | Jujubean2401's Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

