Nicey Spicey …..

Sunday 20th March 2011

Thursday last week I was sat pondering on what to have for tea that evening … knowing full well that the eldest was out at Scouts and the twins would be eating earlier I only had me and th’usband to feed …. when I stumbled upon a tweet from a fine foodie fella Craig Lyons (@mrcraiglyons on twitter …… author of the blog  http://lyonsmade.blogspot.com/ ) announcing that he would be making chapati’s …. this fuelled my curry addiction no end and the decision was made to get my groove on and produce a Chicken Jalfrezi  .. so I used a recipe I had noted down a while ago and never got around to trying …until now !!!

 It looks laborious at first but the actual ease of the recipe surprised even me ……. so here goes …

Chicken Jalfrezi

1 1/2 lb Chicken breast

1 tbsp oil

1 tsp cumin seeds

1 onion finely chopped

1 green pepper , chopped (I used yellow pepper as not a fan of green pepper)

1 red pepper , chopped

1 garlic clove , crused (I used 2 ..love the garlic)

2cm fresh root ginger , finely chopped

1 tbsp curry paste

1/4 tsp chilli powder

1tsp ground coriander

1tsp ground cumin

1/2 tsp salt

400g chopped tomatoes

2tbsp chopped fresh coriander

1. cut meat into chunks

2. heat oil & fry cumin seeds until they splutter . Add the onion , peppers , garlic and ginger . Fry on med heat for 6-8 mins.

3. add curry paste and fry for 2 mins. Stir inb the chilli , ground coriander,cumin and salt. Add 1tbsp water and fry for 2 mins.

4. Add chicken and fry for 5 mins. Add toms and fresh coriander.

5. Cover pan tightly & cook for approx 15 mins (I left for 25 mins stirring occasionally and the chicken was melt in the mouth)

Serve with basmati rice and garnish  x

you may never need to get a takeaway again …

Beautiful ! Enjoy xx

3 thoughts on “Nicey Spicey …..

  1. Hi. I am visiting your blog and wanted to say what a delightful site you have. Definitely change the name from “wannabe” to “Am and always will be” a Foodie. Great job. Love the lemon risotto pork. I write a blog on food, too. And recipes and relationships. All told through stories. Please visit. Maybe follow. That would be great. Thanks

Leave a Reply

