Easter Treats …

April 23rd 2011 … St Georges day .. Or is it ?????

I’m here !! I know you’ve all missed me and my ramblings .. I simply don’t know what happened .. apart from an influx of cake orders , an engagement BBQ and a wedding … and a weeks holiday in Great Yarmouth ! Phew ! But I’m back and hopefully got myself back in the groove !

With it being Easter Sunday tomorrow I decided on a whim to bake a few Easter treats for the kids (and my Dad .. Easily the biggest chocoholic in the whole wide world ……….. ) so after a mooch through a few recipes I happened upon a recipe for Choconana Muffins !! Which to be honest would save my conscience from throwing away the “extremely ripe” bananas in the fruit bowl ……. so after a trip to the shop for cocoa, ice cream for the twinnagers and mini eggs (which I hasten to add were OUT OF STOCK !!!! The day before Easter … what’s that about I ask thee ) I set about making this amazingly simple Choconana muffin goodness …….

Choconana Muffins

225g Plain flour

25g cocoa powder

1tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda

150g caster sugar

3 ripe bananas

2 large eggs (free range if poss),beaten

4tbsp sunflower oil

To decorate :

50g white or dark choc (or both)

chocolate eggs

Preheat oven to 200 degs/Gas Mark 6

Line a 12 hole nuffin tin with paper cases

Sift all the dry ingredients together in a large bowl . Mash the bananas on a plate  and beat the eggs together with the oil. Tip all 3 wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and beat lightly.

Divide the mixture between the 12 cases . Bake for 20-25 mins (I baked for 20 and that was possibly too much … slight charring on some ..so do keep an eye on them)

Leave to cool for 5 mins before transferring onto a wire rack.

When completely cool . melt the choc and drizzle over the muffins ! Decorate with the eggs if they have survived this long !

A simple , hardy recipe …. don’t expect a lightness of cupcakes as these are definitely muffins ! And tasty to boot 🙂

Happy Easter Folks and I hope to be back sooner than last time !

One thought on “Easter Treats …

  1. you’ve been gone ages! You have been missed…….
    I can’t believe mini eggs were out of stock…………Easter is not Easter without Mini Eggs…..
    x

Leave a Reply

