Chocolate , Banana & Walnut loaf

Some of you may or may not know that i last week joined a well known slimming group in order to shape this but into something that resembles pert as opposed to a whole bowl of mushy peaches …….. however I still have this complete and utter overwhelming urge to bake and make lovely tasting baked goodie ! Now we all know that thats never going to be good for the whole pert v peaches situation .. but still I continue .. I generally coerce my children , parents , In laws and neighbours into sampling the goods and to be honest I don’t have enough willpower not to have a tatse test myself … oops !!! So anyway I digress … 2 days into my new regime I discovered a bowl of bananas that were in dire need of attention ! Did I mash them into plain yogurt with a slurp of clear honey thus ensuring I was staying on track and all was dandy ??? Did i ? Did I heckers like …. I instead trawled the cupboards for dark cholocolate and walnuts and made the aforementioned loaf ….

250g SR flour

a pinch of salt

150g caster sugar

100g unsalted butter,melted and then cooled

2 medium eggs (free range preferably), beaten

250g peeled ripe banans (this was 3 medium sized for me)

75g dark choc , chopped ( about 1/2 a lg bar) (I used Cadburys bourneville)

100g walnut pieces

grease and base line a 900g loaf tin

preheat oven to 180 degrees/ Gas Mark 4

Mix the flour , salt and sugar in a large bowl . Add the butter and the eggs (beaten) .

Roughly mash the bananas … leave some lumps for texture ! Add to the bowl .

Add the chocolate and walnut pieces and mix everything together until thoroughly combined.

Pour the mixture into the prepared tin , spread evenly .. then bake in the oven for 55 mins !

Leave to cool for 5 mins before turning out onto wire rack to cool before slicing !

Will last upto 4 days in airtight container !

(If it lasts that long)

eat plain or spread with butter or cream cheese …. or choclate spread for extra decadence !!!!!

ENJOY !!!!!! xx

3 thoughts on “Chocolate , Banana & Walnut loaf

  1. Ooh this looks lovely and I think that any baking that involves fruit or vegetables has to be good for you – it contributes to your Five a Day surely!? Will be giving this one a whirl.

Leave a Reply

