Viva Espana ….

Well … t’other night I arranged to head on out to my most favourite restaurant ever in Derby, El Toro , for a magnificent Tapas feast with my best friend ! However … on closer inspection of my financial affairs it appeared that a night on the town was not to be  ! On a whim I decided that for a fraction of the price I could whip up a tapas feast for 3 of us ….. and so I did !!!!! The list was written of dishes that we all enjoy , the shopping list was written for th’usband to fetch whilst I was working hard at t’mill (Ok its a doctors surgery .. but its still hard yakker .. honest ! Ahem ) and the Juju tapas extravaganza was born …….

Well , never one to underfeed my guests I made sure there were plenty of tapas dishes and plenty of the said dishes to go around …… So for 3 of us to feast .. I reckon I actually prepared enough for 10 !!! suffice to say we were stuffed to the gills and sated on fine wine ……. 🙂

Here’s what we ate ..

Patatas Bravas

Chorizo y vino tinto

Champignones de ajillo

Roasted peppers & fiery cheese

Queso de Manchego

Serrano Ham

Croquetas de pollo

Spanish Omelette (Tortilla)

Moroccan Chicken kebabs

Goats cheese & Serrano Ham Empanadillas

and the feast was fantastic ….

Some of the recipes I used were from a friend of mine and you can  find these recipes on her blog … http://comidayvidauk.blogspot.com/

The other recipes I will blog for you over the next few days ….

Here’s the first ….. Peppers with Fiery Cheese

1 red pepper , halved & deseeded

1 orange pepper , halved & deseeded

1 yellow pepper , halved & deseeded

115g/4oz afuega’l piyu cheese (or any other hot spiced cheese), diced

1 tbsp clear honey

1tbsp sherry vinegar

salt & pepper

Preheat the grill to high . Place the peppers skin side up in a single layer on a baking sheet. cook under a hot grill for 8-10 mins or until the skin is blistered and blackened. Using tongs transfer to a polythene bag , tie the top and leave to cool .

When the peppers are cool remove the blackened skim and discard it (use either your fingers or a sharp knife) Place the peppers on a serving plate and sprinkle over the cubed cheese.

Whisk the honey & sherry vinegar together and season to taste. pour the dressing over the peppers cover and chill until ready to serve !!!!!

As easy as that !!!!! ENJOY !!

Leave a Reply

