Chilli Bean Soup…

I am acutely aware that I am severely behind in my blogging …. I do apologise .. as ever life just keeps throwing me curveballs ….. ! A week or two a go I embarked upon a new challenge with a few other blogtastic ladies .. that being that as foodies/cooks/harrassed mothers/busy bloggers we were all piling on the pounds … stones in my case … and it had to stop …. We have formed a little group who blog & diet .. or not diet .. developing a lifestyle change to encourage a healthier, slimmer outlook on life is perhaps more appropriate …. you can follow my diet blog here onepoundatatime.posterous.com  … its not particularly inspiring YET but it will be …. I hope !

Anyhow .. one of my first forays into tasty , low fat  and delicious food was the aforementioned chili bean soup … It was LOVELY !! Packed full of flavour with a kick …. Its one I will make again and one that was just as delicious after a 2 day stint of being fridged …  and I imagine would be perfect for a cold winters night … or a humble lunch on a dreary November day ! Well I made this on a hot day in July and yes .. I kid you not …. Sweat I did …… even so … I’d make this any time of year as its fab …..

Recipe for the Chili Bean Soup .. a lovely spicy , filling meal ..

(Serves 4 … 163 cals per portion)

I med red onion, finely chopped

I small red chili , sliced

1 x 225g can chickpeas , drained & rinsed

1 x 225g Red kidney beans , drained & rinsed

1 lg can chopped tomatoes

1 pint vegetable stock

1tbsp tomato puree

2 tsps chopped fresh oregano

salt  & pepper , to taste

Preheat a non stick pan/wok .. add the onion & chili and dry fry for 4-5 mins

Transfer to a saucepan & add all the remaining ingredients .

Bring to the boil and then simmer for 20 mins.

Season to taste   .. I used My Secret Kitchen Schezuan Pepper for extra ZING !!!

(Recipe adapted from Rosemary Conley’s Ultimate GI Jeans diet)

I’ll be back soon guys .. I promise !!!!!!!

2 thoughts on “Chilli Bean Soup…

  1. Pingback: MFB Members Blog Round Up – August 2011 | Midlands Food Bloggers

Leave a Reply

