Seriously Good Aromatic Masala Sauces

At the beginning of the summer I was asked to try out some ready prepared jars of sauces for none other than Mr Gordon Ramsay … Well Ok let’s be fair .. Old Gordo has never heard of me ever (probably) and so therefore I am assuming it wasn’t the man himself requesting my remarkably informed (ahem !) opinions of his curry sauces !!! Anyhow …… As it was , I was sent 2 jars of sauces .. Aromatic Masala & a Korma ! Recipe sheets were included .. but me being me decided to do my own thang ….

We decided to have the  Aromatic Masala one evening   after a hectic day .. knowing it would be a pretty simple process of chopping a few mushrooms , slicing the chicken .. fry add and simmer !!!! And so thats what I did …. a piping hot bowl of chicken curry in the time it takes to boil a bowl of basmati.. as it were !!!  Now for a quick and easy meal these sauces are undeniably handy ….and as for the flavour ….well .. Mr Ramsay .. You appear to have everything in order ! Whilst not restaurant standard .. this is something I imagine both you and I are always certain of when popping open a jar … its certainly tasty and adequate to tantalise the tastebuds into knowing its hitting the spice trail !

I would use this sauce again … but only as a storecupcoard emergency standby ! The ease of use is great and I don’t think many of us out there can deny that when we are tired , cold and hungry …. a quick fry and sizzle and on the plate is preferable to lots of prep and waiting around !

A good point to rememeber is that when purchasing these Seriously Good sauces .. a percentage of the proceeds go towards Comic Relief ….so giving to charity AND getting a tasty , filling meal has got to be worth a punt !!!! Try them for yourselves .. experiment .. see what you can come up with …..

Here’s  a recipe devised by Gordy himself …. Give it a whirl …..

Masala Chops (Serves 2 )

4 Lamb Chops

sea salt & ground black pepper

1 tbsp Olive oil

1 garlic clove, finely chopped

2cm root ginger , peeled & finely chopped

1 red chilli,deseeded and finely chopped

1 jar SERIOUSLY GOOD Aromatic Masala sauce

50g plain yogurt

3 sprigs fresh coriander

basmatic rice & indian breads to serve

1. Trim off excess fat &season .

Heat the oil in a large heavy based pan and add the lamb chops. fry for approx 1-2 mins until lightly browned all over . remove from pan and set aside.

2. Drain excess fat from pan and add remaining oil. Add garlic, ginger and chili and saute for 1-2 mins, stiring all the time until fragrant .

3. Return the chops to the pan and add the SERIOUSLY GOOD Aromatic Masala sauce along with 50 ml water. bring to the boil, reduce the heat , cover and simmer. Cook for 50 mins stirring occasionally until the meat is tender. Add a swirl of yogurt and stir through .

4. Arrange the lamb on a warm platter. Spoon the sauce over the top , garnish with corianderand an extra swirl of yogurt . Serve immediately with the rice and bread !

For more recipes you can visit www.seriouslygood.com

SERIOUSLY GOOD SAUCES FOR A SERIOUSLY GOOD CAUSE

(Have just noticed all my pics are of the Korma .. which was lovely and mild .. if the spice is too much to take 🙂 !! )

One thought on “Seriously Good Aromatic Masala Sauces

  1. … interesting curry but I would like you and Gordon if he’s up for it give my creations a test drive and I feel it will be an experience to savour. Just let me know I’ll be happy to pop one in the post. … Bipin

Leave a comment