Coconut Macaroons

Now I know there is a huge furore out there in the wider baking community over macarons and macaroons .. and the pronunciation of which  should be attributed to which sweet treat .. but to be honest ..I couldn’t give a monkeys ! All I know is that yesterday I felt unmotivated , uninspired , restless and ever so slightly frustrated with myself …. So to try and jolt myself into action I decided to go back to basics …..!

My Mum is a huge fan of these coconutty treats and as I knew I was going to see some fireworks with her yesterday evening I decided to make a batch !! They are so simple and quick to make and deliciously moreish ….. (hence why Mum actually only received half a batch …… Th’usband devoured the most part of them ….)

Coconut MacarOOns …….

2 egg whites

160g Dessicated coconut

100g caster sugar

Preheat the oven to 190 degrees .

Line a baking tray or two with greaseproof paper

Whisk your egg whites until frothy … try not to overwhisk … Just frothy and light !

Stir in the coconut and sugar with a big old wooden spoon ….

Now take a spoon and scoop out the mixture a spoonful at a time .. mould each spoonful into a ball and place on the baking tray. Slightly flatten the ball of coconut with your thumb or the back of a sppon .

Repeat until all the mixture has been used up.

Now place in the oven for 10-12 minutes. Until the little macaroons are a golden brown colour .

Allow to cool slightly on the tray (to harden up a little) and then move onto a wire rack to cool fully before devouring at lightening speed .

Such a simple recipe but these little treats of coconutty goodness bring so much joy !!!

I also made a Thor Cake for our bonfire/fireworks exploits ….. you can read all about that here …..

http://www.tastetheseasons.co.uk/ancient-thor-cake-revisited/

Go On GET BAKING !!!!!!!!!

 

 

One thought on “Coconut Macaroons

Leave a Reply

