Put The Lime In the Coconut ….

 

Well I don’t know about you but the first couple of weeks of 2012 have whizzed by in an absolute whirlwind …. With th’usbands 40th birthday , my dad’s 60th birthday , major hassles at work and the kids going back to school ( I don’t do 6.30am starts well ……) so I figured I needed to bake me a cake that would chase away these January Blues that have started to descend ……. after a little bit of research ( My wonderful facebook friends) I discovered that this post Christmas lull is greeted with comfort food by many .. and fresh zingy flavours by others .. ! I quite liked the idea of fresh and zingy … but you all know me .. I like my comfort too … so I rolled the two things into one big mind mash and decided on …

Coconut & Lime Cake  !!!!! Putting the zing back into January ….. OH YES ! Best of both worlds my friends ……. Wanna have a go ??? here you go ….

Juju’s January Blues basher ….

175g butter

3 large eggs (room temp preferably)

250g condensed milk

40 g dessicated coconut

1lime , finely grated zest and juice of

175g Self raising flour

1 tsp baking powder

Icing – 100g Icing sugar & juice & zest of 1 lime

Preheat oven 170 degrees

Grease & line a 2lb loaf tin ( to be honest I only ever grease as my bakeware is non stick but you know your tins better than I do folks …)

Now whack all the ingredients ( except icing ingredients ..) into a bowl  and mix until you’ve got a lovely batter ( I would say smooth but with the coconut it’s always going to look a little lumpy !!

Then pour the batter into your tin and bake for 55-65 mins !

HOW EASY IS THAT ???????

When the cake has completely cooled mix the icing sugar , lime juice and zest together and pour over the cake ….add some strips of lime zest for decoration …. Then eat with gusto !!!! Watch those January blues disappear as you bite into a zingy slice of the oncoming spring ……

 

3 thoughts on “Put The Lime In the Coconut ….

Leave a Reply

