Birthday Ponderings ….

Today is my birthday ! My 36th birthday ….. ! When did I get so …. unyoung ??? Well , it comes to something when you have to bake your own birthday cakes – but I guess it’s a case of better the devil you know !!!! And actually to be honest to see the smiles on the faces of my colleagues as their eyes light up and they begin to salivate ( that bit isn’t quite so attractive) and to hear the groans of delight , the grunts ( yep , really!!) of appreciation and the slurps of a satisfied cake eater eminating from their very cores as they devour the sweet treat of Birthday Bakes makes it all worthwhile !

Today has been tinged with a hint of sadness as despite being the date of my birth ” All Rejoice” ….It has also been my last working day at the office  I have grown to love & hate in equal measures ! I am being forced to move to another office in another doctors surgery after 21/2 happy years with the team …no discussion .. no choice .. no bloody reason except some pig headedness and cock-eyed reasoning ! It’s bloody annoying .. (‘scuse language) and has made me take stock of what’s going on in my life ….made me look at the path I’m following and whether or not it’s leading me where I want to actually be ….!

So as the girls giggle over a cuppa & a slice of coffee & walnut traybake  and the Docs sneak off with wedges of my Lemon Crunch cake .. this Wannabe now stands on the wrong side of 35 (208 weeks until i’m 40 !!! I know .. sad ) making decisons , plans for the future and choices for “her” for ME !!! It’s amazing how cake can enter your life , improve it and change your life immeasurably … ! Through cake I have found many many friends and many many new talents ….. Cake amazes me ! Cake my friends is MY future …..

So why not try my Enlightening Lemon Crunch Cake  and see if it changes your life ….. It probably won’t but you’ll have a mighty fine cake to munch on whilst you ponder ……..

Enlightening Lemon Crunch Cake

300g butter , softened

300g caster sugar

Zest of 2 lemons , finely grated

3 lg Eggs (free range)

300g Self Raising Flour

Crunchy Topping : 175g Granulated sugar

                                  Juice of 2 lemons

Preheat Oven to 180 degrees. Grease a 2lb loaf tin  ( Line it too if you like .. You know your tins better than I do)

Cream the butter & sugar together until light and fluffy. Beat in the lemon zest.

Add the eggs and flour and mix !

Pour into your tin and pop into the oven for 35-45 mins !

Leave to cool in the tin . Turn out once almost cooled.

Now mix the granulated sugar & lemon juice together and spoon onto the top of the cake to create a satisfyingly sweet & crunchy topping. It doesn’t need to be neat or perfect just sweet and crunchy !

Now EAT and ponder life’s complexities …… (sorry now you’ll all be singing that all night ! Oops !)

**(Loosely based on an amazing lemon cake found in Prepped by the ever wonderful Vanessa Kimbell)

2 thoughts on “Birthday Ponderings ….

  1. I love a lemon cake with a crunchy topping….yum!

    And those words will have to be on your headstone……obviously in many many many many years to come…..
    ‘Cake my friends is MY future …..’
    x

Leave a Reply

