Rhubarb , Rhubarb !!!

20130613_155611

So I promised a while back that I was coming back … sadly life decided a different course for me .. and I became eclipsed in  a whirlwhind of doctors appointment , hospital appointments , surgery and tests … so I sit here in week 3 of being signed off from work .. hoping to return in a weeks time as a New Ju ! Well .. not exactly a new Ju .. more like a slightly battered but all the better for it kind of Ju !!

So what have I been up to .. in truth .. not a lot ! My Wonder Woman tiara has slipped into oblivion and the normal unassuming me has come to the fore … so much so that when I was presented with a big old bag of the biggest rhubarb sticks I ever did see .. I was totally at a loss of what to do with them !!!!! I suddenly realised I had never .. NEVER … cooked with rhubarb !! NEVER !!!! How bad is that ….. So I went for basic but beeeeeeeaaautiful !! Rhubarb and ginger crumble ! But not just any old rhubarb and ginger crumble .. Juju’s New Ju .. Keeping it light  Rhubarb and ginger crumble ( Yes I’m on a diet … nay …I am following a healthy eating plan with a view to finding my toes again … I know they are there somewhere .. I.Just,Can’t. See. Them …..)

20130613_155604

Rhubarb & Ginger Crumble

600g Rhubarb , washed and chopped into inch size pieces

8 tbsp of sugar substitiute (artificial sweetener)

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1 tsp ground ginger

1 orange

Topping (and here’s the skinny bit …ahem)

60g low fat margarine / butter ( is there such a thing)

4 tbsp artificial sweetener

100g plain flour

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp ginger

Preheat your oven to 180 degrees.

Put the rhubarb on a baking tray … squeeze the orange over the rhubarb , then grate the zest and sprinkle that too .. then scatter with the artificial sweetener ( You could use caster sugar or muscavado sugar if you like) .. sprinkle over the cinnamon and ginger and now pop it in the oven for 15 minutes !

Meanwhile .. make the topping .. rub the flour and margarine together in a bowl to a breadcrumby texture  then throw in the cinamon and ginger and mix well !!

Now pop the rhubarb in a dish .. or 4 individual ramekins … sprinkle the topping over the rhubarb … and bake for about 20 mins until browned and bubbling !!

Then devour ( remember to let it cool a wee bit … nobody like a blister in the mush )… Now the old Juju would douse this in a) double cream b) custard c) ice cream … one or all of the aforementioned !!!  So it’s up to you … to help me get to be the slinky foodie instead of the wannabe, I’ll be having it with fat free yogurt sprinkled with cinnamon xx

Enjoy y’all !!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

