Plum , Nectarine & Birds Eye Chilli Jam .. Oooh it’s Hot !!!

plum2

I managed to blag a whole heap of plums from an ols schoolfriend who had announced she had the most delicious plums in her back garden (!) on facebook … so I cheekily suggested that a few of them may make their way into my kitchen !!! A cup of tea and a good old chinwag later I left with bags full of the plumpest juiciest plums I’ve faced this year !! Winner !!!

I always make plum jam and use it in my bakewell puddings so I decided to do something a bit different this time .. I had a few nectarines hanging about looking slightly sorry for themselves , like a gaggle of teenagers kicking their heels announcing “I’m Bored!” .. so I thought I’d add them to the plums … and then found a jar of dried birds eye chillies from Steenbergs in the back of my cupboard and thought .. well why the hell not !!!! And so was born Juju’s Plum , Nectarine & Birds Eye Chilli Jam !!!!

2 lbs plums, rinsed, pitted and sliced
3/4 lb nectarines, rinsed, pitted, cut into small chunks
1 lb caster sugar
zest & juice of 2 large lemons
10 tiny dried birds eye chillies
pinch salt

plum1

Day 1. Combine plums, nectarines, sugar, lemon zest & juice, chillies and salt. Stir well, then weigh the fruit down with a small plate, cover the bowl and pop it in the fridge overnight.

Day 2. Prepare the jars and lids. Was the jars in warm soapy water , rinse then pop in a hot oven (160 degrees) for half an hour to sterilise .

Transfer the fruit and juice to a large, heavy, wide-bottomed pan. Bring to a boil over high heat, without stirring.

Continue to boil, stirring ocassionally, until the jam reaches the set point: (or a dollop of hot jam wrinkles after 2 minutes on a frozen plate), about 15 minutes.

Ladle hot fruit into hot, sterilised jars (Don’t overfill). Wipe rims,pop a round of greaseproof paper on top of the jam, affix lids and leave to cool !

Now decide how best to eat this … I reckon it can be eaten on toast .. or in a cheese sandwich … or with cheese & biscuits !! Or any which way you fancy …..

(This will last for up to a year unopened … )

A perfect make for those “C” hampers you may be consdering making !! (Ahem .. sorry !!)

3 thoughts on “Plum , Nectarine & Birds Eye Chilli Jam .. Oooh it’s Hot !!!

  1. ooh I bet this is lovely! I have a load of plums in the freezer that we snaffled from the tree in the pub garden! I need to make me some plum jam or chutney ready for crimbo cheese!

Leave a Reply

