Great Bloggers Bake Off Week 4 – Pies & Tarts

 

Image

I have to admit that this week I have been totally uninspired … whether that be because I’m supposed to be on a diet and somehow pie just doesn’t fit the demographic .. or whether it be because I’m skint  so weird & wonderful ingredients were completely out of the picture .. whatever the reason this week left me cold !! I almost didn’t participate .. thats how unmotivated I was !!! However , something grabbed me and after a quick scan of Old Mother Hubbard’s cupboards … I found all the ingredients I needed to indulge not only my love of baking but my love of good old traditional Derbyshire cooking !! 

Some of you may know I write for a Derbyshire food magazine championing all things Derbyshire … and this tart fits that to a tee !!!

First things first , the categories for week 4 were

Double Crusted Fruit Pies 

Custard tarts 

Filo Pastry showstopper

My entry is coming into the tart (snigger!)category  andI give you 

Image

The Ashover Moorland Tart ( Or should I rename it Eggy curranty toffee tart) 

Fleur Pastry ( Commonly used for fruit flans.. also known as a biscuit pastry)

3 oz butter or soft margarine

2oz caster sugar

1 egg yolk

6 oz plain flour

A little cold water.

Filling :

3 HARD BOILED EGGS

4oz butter , melted

4oz candied peel

4oz currants

3oz caster sugar

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees

Cream the butter & sugar together until soft & light. Add the egg yolk  and the flour . Gradually stir in enough cold water to bind the pastry dough.

No need to rest the pastry. Just roll out and line a greased 8″ flan tin.

Line the pastry case with with greaseproof paper & baking beans(rice . lentils .. whatever you use) and blind bake for 15 minutes. remove the paper and beads and continue to bake for another 5 minutes. 

Now onto the filling … If you haven’t already then hard boil & peel your eggs.

Mash them ! And add them to all the other ingredients using the melted butter to bind it all together.

Image

Now fill your pastry case and pop back in the oven for 30-35 minutes until the filling is set !

Leave to cool then … well … eat !!! 

This tart would have been eaten as a lunch time meal for the men of Ashover who worked in the quarries and mines … It combining both savoury & sweet ! That given .. you could eat this tart with a big dollop of ice cream or even clotted cream ….Mmmmmmm ! Or with a wedge of cheese & chutney ! It’s versatility is genius !! Good old Derbyshire Scran !!!!! 

PS I gave the kids a slice without revealing it’s slightly weird ingredient .. they hated it !! Ooops ! To me it tasted like a very sweet toffee like mince pie .. or perhaps an ecclefechan tart without the nuts !!! Definitely one for the adults ….

Image

Fancy joining in with The Great Bloggers Bake Off ???  Head on over and visit Helen Hollywood at http://www.thecrazykitchen.co.uk/p/the-great-bloggers-bake-off.html and/or  Jenny Berry at http://www.mummymishaps.co.uk/category/gbbo

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Great Bloggers Bake Off Week 4 – Pies & Tarts

  1. hmm, I think I would like this…as there aren’t many foods that I don’t like….definitely with cream though….or maybe cheese…it’s a weird one I’ll give you that!
    thanks for joining in!

  2. hmmmmm it is hard to imagine how this would taste although given how you have described it, it sounds like a tart i would enjoy. i think you are great at demonstrating some unique flavours – i would try it with cream please x
    thanks for joining in – easier next week x

  3. Pingback: GBBO Week 4 Round Up | Mummy Mishaps

Leave a Reply

