Great Bloggers Bake Off – Week 6 BUNS !!!

 

GBBO

Unbelievably Week 6  of the Great British bake Off is upon us  .. and with it, it bought us European sweet buns .. and tea loves .. and a magnificent twisty technical extravaganza ….the couronne !! Being pushed for time as ever I decided to stay simple and opted to make a Sally Lunn loaf !! So I’m putting this into the tea loaf category despite it involving no dried fruit whatsoever !!

Pentax Digital Camera

 

Sally Lunn

Starter :

2 tsp of dried yeast

1 tsp caster sugar

175ml warm semi skimmed milk

50g strong white bread flour

 

Loaf:

175g strong white bread flour

25g butter

25g caster sugar

1/2 tsp salt

Grated zest of 1 lemon

1 medium free range egg

 

Glaze:

1tbsp milk

1tbsp boiling water

1 tbsp caster sugar

 

First make your starter batter – stir the yeast & sugar into the ilk , then beat in the flour. It will look lumpy …it should !!! Now leave in a warm place for 20 minutes until the mixture smells yeasty and looks frothy !!

Grease and line a 6″ tin.. make sure the greaseproof paper comes about the top of the tin by about 2 inches .

Now , place the flour into a bowl and rub in the butter . Add the sugar , salt & lemon zest.

Next , beat the egg into the frothy , yeasty starter batter and tip this into the dry ingredients. Beat with a wooden spoon until the batter is smooth . Pour this into your prepared tin and place in a warm place to prove. I proved my dough for 1.5 hrs until the mixture had doubled in size .

Preheat the oven to 220 degrees (200 for a fan) .

Bake your Sally Lunn  for about 25 minutes until the bun looks nice & golden.

Make up your glaze by dissolving the sugar in the water then add your milk. Once the bun is out of the oven ( snarf snarf) glaze the top immediately and leave in the tin for 5-10 minutes. then turn out onto a wire cooling rack to cool completely.

This loaf will serve 4-6 people …

Serve  with lashings and lashings of butter … Or as I  prefer sliced horizontally in 3 and filled with fresh clotted cream and the very best strawberry jam !!

This delicious loaf tasted just like a currant bun … without the currants !!!  It has a flavour that when I tasted it it made me cry .. it transported me back 30 years ago to when I was a little girl sat in my Grandma’s kitchen eating cakes on a Saturday afternoon after Church !! I miss my Grandma .. and the Sally Lunn bought her back to me for a short moment ! I will definitely make this again .. and again .. and again … And I’m sorry Old Sally Lunn I’m renaming this as Grandma’s Treat Bun !!!

Pentax Digital Camera

 

 

Fancy joining in ( and being on time ) with The Great Bloggers Bake Off ??? Head on over and visit Helen Hollywood at http://www.thecrazykitchen.co.uk/p/the-great-bloggers-bake-off.html and/or Jenny Berry at http://www.mummymishaps.co.uk/category/gbbo

 

5 thoughts on “Great Bloggers Bake Off – Week 6 BUNS !!!

  1. serves 4-6 you say? hmmmm I doubt that with me around! Lashings of butter & a gallon of tea to wash it all down please….yum, sounds delicious!
    x

  2. Pingback: GBBO Weekly Round Up #6 | Mummy Mishaps

Leave a Reply

