Great Bloggers Bake Off – Week 7 : Faffy pastry !

Pentax Digital Camera

Give me a ball of sugarpaste and I’ll create you a decorated cake of your choosing but present me with the choice of choux pastry , puff pastry and suet pastry  and I’ll run a mile !!! Faffy Faffy Faff Faff !!! It’s all a bit too faffy for me .. although don’t get me wrong I would chow down on any of the above mentioned pastry without so much as a by your leave … ! Now this week’s bake off did present me with the choice of these 3 pastries .. and I was worried ! cakes .. yay ! Pastry .. Aaaaaaargh … add into that faffy pastry ( Not it’s correct term I grant you) and I can be heard screaming from a mile off ….

So I decided that I had to step out of my comfortable little box and face the faff head on … no challenge was going to defeat me …. and I chose CHOUX ! I give you my Caramelised apple ( Yep still trawling through my bags of apples ) and white chocolate ganache choux buns

Caramelised Apple & White Chocolate Ganache Choux Buns

Pastry :

175ml water

a good pinch of salt

75g unsalted butter, diced

100g plain flour

3 med eggs , beaten

Caramelised apples:

4 good sized apples

4 tbsp golden caster sugar

200ml double cream

Ganache:

200g white chocolate

100ml double cream

Line a baking tray with greaseproof paper , preheat your oven to 200 degrees

To make the choux pastry – put the water , butter and salt in a medium sized pan and heat gently until all the butter is melted ( don’t allow the water to boil ). Now quickly bring the pan up to boil and tip in all of the flour . remove from the heat and beat furiously with a wooden spoon. it will eventually come together to make a smooth , heavy dough . Put the pan back on the heat and cook off for a minute or two to slightly cook the dough. it should come away from the side of the pan forming a smooth glossy ball ! Now put the dough into a large mixing bowl & allow to cool a little.  Now beat your eggs together then gradually add them to your dough beating with a wooden spoon afetr each addition. Be prepared for it to look a bit bleurgh when you are doing this ….Eventually the dough will be shiny and paste like !

Now take a spoon and place 8 good spoonfulsof the dough on your baking tray , leaving a good space between each mound. Sprinkle the tray ( not the buns) with water and pop them in the oven for 15 minutes. Without opening the oven door turn the heat down to 180 degrees for a further 15 minutes. Now remove from the oven and make a small hole in each bun to allow the steam to escape  then pop them back in the oven for another 5-10 minutes. Remove from the oven and allow to cool completely on a wire rack.

Pentax Digital Camera

Now peel core and slice your apples and place in a heavy bottomed pan … sprinkle the sugar over the apples and put on a high heat for 10 minutes  stirring occasionally until the sugar has caramelised .  Leave to cool .

Now whip your double cream to a piping consistency.

To make your ganache pop the choclate and cream into a bowl and place this over a simmering pan of water. Ensure your bowl does not touch the water below. melt the two together stirring frequently . Once all melted and mixed . Allow to cool.

 

Now assemble these mountains of gorgeousness. Slice open your buns , fill with a spoonful of the apples , pipe or spoon in a good helping of double cream .. pop the top back on and drizzle wantonly with the white chocolate ganache ! Then eat and be merry .. that’s the law !!

For saying my apprehension about faffy pastry was palpable .. I really enjoyed making .. and eating these exciting morsels !!! I shall be choux chouxing again ….. For sure !!! Even the blummin’ kids liked them … ALOT !!! By jove I think I’ve cracked it ……

Pentax Digital Camera

Fancy joining in ( and being on time ) with The Great Bloggers Bake Off ??? Head on over and visit Helen Hollywood at http://www.thecrazykitchen.co.uk/p/the-great-bloggers-bake-off.html and/or Jenny Berry at http://www.mummymishaps.co.uk/category/gbbo

4 thoughts on “Great Bloggers Bake Off – Week 7 : Faffy pastry !

  1. Nice flavour combo! i get what your mean…I’m not in to faffy things, but i think choux is the least faffiest…..bloomin painful on your arms though! I made some White choc & strawberry eclairs.

  2. oooooh i so like the sound of caramalised apple choux buns with white choc mmmm! well done on getting your faffy faffy faff faff on lol xx

Leave a Reply

