A birra Wet Nelly !!

wetnel

A what ?? I know .. I was exactly the same when one of my oldest and bestest friends started bangng on about this allegedly unbeatable pud ! Wet Nelly … never heard of it said I … Its’s amazing said she … so the gauntlet had been laid down ! Let’s prove this preposterous claim  … let us seek out a recipe and see just what Me K was on about … so I did !! It just so happened I had a bag of stale brioche buns hanging about my sideboard  so what better way to use them up … Here Goes

Wet Nelly

8 Stale Brioche buns ( or use a day old loaf of bread with crusts removed ) ripped into bits or chopped into squares 

100g butter

140g brown sugar

¾ pint milk warmed

500g mixed fruit

1 dessert spoon mixed spice

3 medium eggs

Method

Preheat oven to 180 degrees

Soak the bread in the milk for at least 4 hours , overnight is better !

Now add all the ingredients together and mix very well .

Pour into a well greased roasting tin ( preferably about 10″ x 6″ )

Bake for 1 hr- 1 1/4 hrs  until springy to the touch .

Serve warm with custard, cream or ice cream  or leave to go cold and enjoy with a proper cup of tea !!

( Recipe adapted from The National Trust)

So the verdict … I have to  say I think it’s an acquired taste and got mixed reviews on the playground … but I liked it !!! It smelt a bit like Christmas should  … Perfect Pud for the anticipated autumn days ! Enjoy x

The brioche was sent to me for review purposes. Many Thanks to Brioche Pasquier.

Leave a Reply

